About Us: Board of Directors

As a Coalition, we are a united voice advocating for better access to optimal health care for all Albertans. We are proactively engaged in relevant discussions with governments, health professionals and other stakeholders concerning existing health care challenges or proposed health care reform. We create synergy in our advocacy and in our efforts to work together with government and other stakeholders to improve our health care system.

Board of Directors - 2016 - 2017

Katharina Kovacs Burns (Chair)
University of Alberta
Email: kathy.kovacsburns@ualberta.ca


Bruce West (Vice-President)

Email: Bruce.West@shaw.ca

Mary Chibuk (Treasurer)
Health Consultant
Email: mchibuk@telusplanet.net


Angeline Webb
Canadian Cancer Society, Alberta/NWT Division
Email: angeline.webb@cancer.ab.ca


Kathy Watson

Natural Health Practitioners of Canada

Email: KWatson@nhpcanada.org


Tom Perkins

Alberta Porphyria Society

Email: tperkins@telusplanet.net


Fraser Hall

Muscular Dystrophy Canada

Email: fraser.hall@muscle.ca


Beth Kidd (Ex Officio)
Executive Director, Health Coalition of Alberta
Email: director@healthcoalitionab.ca

Phone: 403-605-2859



Our membership is comprised of non-elected individuals living with or affected by illness or disease and demonstrating community leadership on focused health issues in Alberta. All members have an equal voice and vote at all meetings or on any issue so requiring.

View our list of Members here

Terms of Reference (pdf)